Good Housekeeping Volume 6

Corbin Hicks
3 min readApr 2, 2024

Hey {{first_name}},

This will most likely be the last newsletter I put out this year. When I return from the holidays, I hope to have my new Substack site up and running. However, there are a few things I’d like to mention here to keep up with the latest news cycles.

  • Congratulations to Lionel Messi and Argentina for winning the Qatar World Cup. Messi and France’s Kylian Mbappe put on an attacking clinic for the entire tournament, and the final was more of the same. Both Messi and Mbappe play their club soccer for Paris Saint-Germain, which is owned by Qatar Sports Investments. I’m sure there was no conflict of interest in promoting PSG’s two biggest assets on the largest stage in the world of soccer.
  • Speaking of the World Cup, congratulations to Donovan C. for being in first place in the World Cup bracket. I came in second place so no one can accuse me of rigging anything, but I’d like to thank everyone that participated.
  • My New Year’s Resolution for 2023 will be to learn Spanish. I took French classes in high school, and I took American Sign Language classes in college and I learned so little of each that I have regrets. I’m going to do something about that, and learn a language I’ve always been interested in. If anyone has any tips or tricks for learning Spanish, I’m all ears.
  • The New England Patriots and Las Vegas Raiders played one of the wildest games I’ve ever seen. I also saw the Minnesota Vikings come back from being down 33 points to the Matt Ryan-led Indianapolis Colts this weekend, but the Raiders and Patriots’ ending was even crazier. Both games were great examples of mediocrity among NFL coaches, particularly from Matt Patricia, Jeff Saturday, and Josh McDaniels. It’s reached the point where the NFL is sending out communications to team owners advising them of how many bad hires there have been in recent memory, and reminding them of the $800M spent over the past five years on contract buyouts for fired coaches. The more things change, the more they stay the same.
  • I know it only came out three days ago, but Ab-Soul’s “Herbert” is one of the best albums I’ve heard this year. I’ve always been a fan of Ab-Soul, so I’m glad to see that he’s still at the peak of his abilities after enduring the 2012 suicide of his girlfriend and the 2018 death of his best friend Mac Miller. I’m tempted to make a “Best Music of 2022” newsletter in January once I’m on the new platform. We’ll see.
  • I’ve been watching a lot of holiday movies recently, and it made me reconsider the “Home Alone” films. Kevin McCallister is a sociopath and he reminds me of the person from that Netflix documentary about how abusing cats led him to ultimately commit murder. He’s sadistic, loves torture, and enjoyed all of the various ways he tormented the Wet/Sticky Bandits. Also, Harry and Marv are literally indestructible.

Pass this on to a friend (or three) and tell them to sign up here if you enjoy this newsletter.

--

--